Review – There Goes Santa Claus

It’s just a few days before Christmas. Ivy and her new husband, Amos, are cozied up in bed, sleeping, when a noise wakes Ivy. She shakes her husband awake and sends him to investigate. But Amos isn’t out of the room yet when Santa Claus falls past their window. Santa is dead by the time they reach him, and the only clue to his identity is a letter written by a young girl, named “Ho Ho.”

It doesn’t take long for word to get around town that Ivy has killed Santa Claus. In order to keep kids from tearing up, Ivy is quick to change Santa’s name to “Chuck.” But even though the local sheriff is not remotely interested in an unknown drunk who slipped off Ivy’s roof, Ivy can’t let it go. Who is he? And why was he on their roof?

There Goes Santa Claus is the fourth book in the Ivy Towers Mystery series. The first three are available in a collection called Cozy in Kansas. I hope that since there is a fourth book, Ms. Mehl continues to keep the series going a bit longer.

I love this series, hands down my favorite cozies so far. Ivy is a spunky heroine, and her hero Amos, is a true sweetheart. And the residents in the town of Winter Break, Kansas are so real, I almost feel like I know them. Don’t miss THERE GOES SANTA CLAUS, or any of the cozies by this talented author. A recipe is included at the end. $6.95. 242 pages.

There Goes Santa Claus (Ivy Towers Mystery #4) (Heartsong Presents Mysteries #33)
There Goes Santa Claus (Ivy Towers Mystery #4) (Heartsong Presents Mysteries #33)
by Nancy Mehl
List Price: $4.97
Sale Price: $21.45
Buy from Amazon.com
Review – There Goes Santa Claus
Reviewed by Laura Hilton
I love this series, hands down my favorite cozies so far.
It’s just a few days before Christmas. Ivy and her new husband, Amos, are cozied up in bed, sleeping, when a noise wakes Ivy. She shakes her husband awake and sends him to investigate. But Amos isn’t out of the room yet when Santa Claus falls past their window. Santa is dead by the time they reach him, and the only clue to his identity is a letter written by a young girl, named “Ho Ho.”

It doesn’t take long for word to get around town that Ivy has killed Santa Claus. In order to keep kids from tearing up, Ivy is quick to change Santa’s name to “Chuck.” But even though the local sheriff is not remotely interested in an unknown drunk who slipped off Ivy’s roof, Ivy can’t let it go. Who is he? And why was he on their roof?

There Goes Santa Claus is the fourth book in the Ivy Towers Mystery series. The first three are available in a collection called Cozy in Kansas. I hope that since there is a fourth book, Ms. Mehl continues to keep the series going a bit longer.

I love this series, hands down my favorite cozies so far. Ivy is a spunky heroine, and her hero Amos, is a true sweetheart. And the residents in the town of Winter Break, Kansas are so real, I almost feel like I know them. Don’t miss THERE GOES SANTA CLAUS, or any of the cozies by this talented author. A recipe is included at the end. $6.95. 242 pages.

Reviewer Info

Laura Hilton


Laura HiltonLaura Hilton, her husband, Steve, and their five children make their home in Horseshoe Bend, Arkansas. She is a pastor’s wife, a stay-at-home mom and home-schools her children. Laura is also a breast cancer survivor.

Her publishing credits include Hot Chocolate and Shadows of the Past from Treble Heart Books; a devotional in a compilation from Zondervan; and the first book “Patchwork Dreams” in her Amish of Seymour series from Whitaker House will be released in April 2011, the second book in September 2011, and the third in April 2012. Laura has her business degree from Ozarka and is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers. Laura is a professional book reviewer for the Christian market, with over a thousand book reviews published at various online review sites.

Laura is represented by Tamela Hancock Murray at Hartline Agency




About Nancy Mehl

Nancy Mehl

Nancy Mehl’s first novel was published in 2001. Since then ten books have followed, including an omnibus edition, Cozy in Kansas, which contains three of her previously published Ivy Towers’s mysteries. Book three in the series, For Whom the Wedding Bell Tolls, won the American Christian Fiction Writers Mystery Book of the Year award (now called the Carol Award) in 2009. She is currently busy writing a new series for Bethany House.

Nancy’s main writing interests lie in mystery and suspense. “There’s a touch of mystery in everything I write,” she says. “The truth is that the lines between suspense and mystery are closer than most people realize. I think the mystery influence will always show up in my novels.”

Nancy’s books have all been set in Kansas. “I love Kansas,” she says. “We’re a lot more interesting than people think. Using Kansas in my novels is easy. We have everything – big cities, small towns, rolling hills, rich farmland, culture, history, odd locations (look up The Garden of Eden in Lucas, Kansas!) and a friendly hometown feeling. “We also enjoy all four seasons. This allows me to set my stories in different weather conditions. Winter is my favorite season. Throw lots of snow in a story and your plot can suddenly go in an interesting direction.”

Nancy lives in Wichita, Kansas with her husband Norman and her very active puggle, Watson. She is president of a volunteer organization, Wichita Homebound Outreach. She is also a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and Romance Writers of America. She and her husband attend Believer’s Tabernacle.

Books by Nancy Mehl
 
Gathering Shadows (Finding Sanctuary)
Paperback
Release date: 05/06/2014


List Price: $14.99
Sale Price: $8.49


Buy from Amazon.com

Unforeseeable (Road to Kingdom Book #3)
Kindle Edition
Release date: 09/01/2013


List Price:


Buy from Amazon.com

Unforeseeable (Road to Kingdom)
Paperback
Release date: 09/01/2013


List Price: $14.99
Sale Price: $5.98


Buy from Amazon.com

 
SIMPLE SECRETS (The Harmony Series)
Mass Market Paperback
Release date: 04/01/2013


List Price: $6.99
Sale Price: $3.29


Buy from Amazon.com

Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom)
Paperback
Release date: 02/01/2013


List Price: $14.99
Sale Price: $2.18


Buy from Amazon.com

Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2)
Kindle Edition
Release date: 02/01/2013


List Price:


Buy from Amazon.com

 
Inescapable (Road to Kingdom)
Paperback
Release date: 07/01/2012


List Price: $14.99
Sale Price: $2.35


Buy from Amazon.com

Inescapable (Road to Kingdom Book #1)
Kindle Edition
Release date: 07/01/2012


List Price:


Buy from Amazon.com

Simple Choices: Will a Missing Mennonite Teen End Gracie’s Hopes for a Happy Future in Harmony? (The Harmony Series)
Kindle Edition
Release date: 06/01/2011


List Price:


Buy from Amazon.com

 
Simple Choices (The Harmony Series)
Paperback
Release date: 06/01/2011


List Price: $12.99
Sale Price: $4.49


Buy from Amazon.com

Blown Away (Hometown Mysteries)
Paperback
Release date: 02/01/2011


List Price: $10.99
Sale Price: $6.33


Buy from Amazon.com

Simple Deceit: A Mennonite Community’s Way of Life Is Threatened by Outsiders (The Harmony Series, Book 2)
Paperback
Release date: 12/01/2010


List Price: $12.99
Sale Price: $3.00


Buy from Amazon.com

 
Simple Deceit: A Mennonite Community’s Way of Life Is Threatened by Outsiders (The Harmony Series)
Kindle Edition
Release date: 12/01/2010


List Price:


Buy from Amazon.com

Missing Mabel (Curl Up and Dye Mystery Series, No. 1 / Hometown Mysteries)
Paperback
Release date: 08/01/2010


List Price: $10.99
Sale Price: $0.01


Buy from Amazon.com

Simple Secrets (The Harmony Series)
Kindle Edition
Release date: 05/08/2010


List Price:


Buy from Amazon.com

 
Cozy in Kansas: In the Dead of Winter/Bye, Bye Bertie/For Whom the Wedding Bell Tolls (Ivy Towers Mystery Omnibus) (America Loves a Mystery: Kansas)
Paperback
Release date: 12/01/2008


List Price: $7.97
Sale Price: $1.70


Buy from Amazon.com

There Goes Santa Claus (Ivy Towers Mystery #4) (Heartsong Presents Mysteries #33)
Paperback
Release date: 10/28/2008


List Price: $4.97
Sale Price: $21.45


Buy from Amazon.com

There Goes Santa Claus (Ivy Towers Mystery #4) (Heartsong Presents Mysteries #33)
Paperback
Release date: 10/28/2008


List Price: $4.97
Sale Price: $21.45


Buy from Amazon.com

 
For Whom The Wedding Bell Tolls (Ivy Towers Mystery #3)
Mass Market Paperback
Release date: 08/05/2008


List Price: $4.97
Sale Price: $4.55


Buy from Amazon.com

In the Dead of Winter: Ivy Towers Mystery Series #1
Mass Market Paperback
Release date: 07/01/2008


List Price: $4.97
Sale Price: $1.49


Buy from Amazon.com

Bye Bye Bertie: Ivy Towers Mystery Series #2
Mass Market Paperback
Release date: 04/11/2008


List Price: $4.97
Sale Price: $1.69


Buy from Amazon.com

ON THE WEB
Connect with Nancy Mehl on:
Facebook Icon 
OUR REVIEWS
INTERVIEWS